Innovation Ohio Facebook Innovation Ohio Twitter Innovation Ohio Instagram

· January 19, 2015

Legislation: Ohio Senate Bill 316 – Sexual Offenses DNA Testing

Bill: Senate Bill 316 (full text, official bill analysis) Title: Sexual Offenses DNA Testing Sponsors: Senator Cafaro Bill Analysis:  The bill requires a law enforcement agency to review the agency’s records pertaining to sexually oriented offenses and to forward the contents of untested sexual assault examination kits to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII)  and/or another crime laboratory for DNA analysis within one year. The bill also requires a law enforcement agency to forward the contents of a sexual assault examination kit to the BCII and/or another crime laboratory for DNA analysis within thirty days after the agency determines that one or more persons may have committed or participated in a sexually oriented offense or another offense committed during the course of a sexually oriented offense. In addition, his bill prioritizes the order in which the DNA specimens forwarded by law enforcement agencies undergo DNA analysis. Status: Introduced in the Senate on March 31, 2014. Passed the Senate June 4, 2014.  Introduced in the House June 4, 2014. Passed the House December 17, 2014. Signed by the Governor December 19, 2014.  
Senate 6/4/2014
Yeas (Pro-Women): 31
Bacon Balderson Beagle Brown
Burke Cafaro Coley Eklund
Gardner Gentile Hite Hughes
Jones Jordan Kearney LaRose
Lehner Manning Obhof Oelslager
Patton Peterson Sawyer Schaffer
Schiavoni Seitz Smith Taveres
Uecker Widener Faber
House 12/17/14
Yea (Pro-Women): 88
Adams J. Adams R. Amstutz Anielski
Antani Antonio Ashford Baker
Barborak Barnes Becker Bishoff
Blessing Boose Boyce Brenner
Brown Buchy Burkley Butler
Carney Celebrezze Cera Clyde
Conditt Curtin Damschroder Derickson
Dovilla Driehaus Duffey Fedor
Foley Gerberry Gonzales Green
Grossman Hackett Hagan, C. Hagan, R.
Hall Hayes Heard Henne
Hill Hood Hottinger Huffman
Johnson Kunze Landis Letson
Mallory McClain McGregor Milkovich
O’Brien Patmon Patterson Pelanda
Perales Phillips Pillich Reece
Retherford Roegner Rogers Romanchuk
Rosenberger Scherer Schuring
Sears Sheehy Slaby Smith
Sprague Stautberg Stebelton Stinziano
Strahorn Sykes Terhar Thompson
Wachtmann Williams Young Batchelder

Related Content

Tagged in these Policy Areas: