Innovation Ohio Facebook Innovation Ohio Twitter Innovation Ohio Instagram

· May 9, 2013

Legislation: Ohio House Bill 130 – Human Trafficking

Bill: House Bill 130 (full text, official bill analysis) Title: Human Tafficking Sponsors: Representative Fedor Co-Sponsors: Representatives Antonio, Ashford, Barborak, Barnes, Bishoff, Boose, Boyce, Boyd, Brown, Buchy, Budish, Carney, Celebrezze, Cera, Clyde, Curtin, Derickson, Dovilla, Driehaus, Foley, Gerberry, Green, Hagan, R., Hall, Heard, Henne, Letson, Lundy, Maag, Mallory, Milkovich, O’Brien, Patmon, Patterson, Pelanda, Phillips, Pillich, Ramos, Redfern, Reece, Rogers, Schuring, Slesnick, Stautberg, Stebelton, Stinziano, Strahorn, Sykes, Szollosi, Terhar, Williams, Winburn Bill Analysis:  The bill allows a Juvenile Court to appoint a guardian ad litem for a child who is a victim or a witness of human trafficking.  Prohibits the placement of a child who is in temporary custody with a parent if the parents has been convicted of ” promoting prostitution, compelling prostitution, or trafficking in persons, or a substantially equivalent offense.”  It also extends the period within which a prosecution for human trafficking must start, expanding it from six years to twenty years. It also makes other changes to protect victims of human trafficking, including provisions such as allowing the victims to testify via closed circuit television. Status: Introduced in the House April 16,2013.  Passed in the House on June 26, 2013.  Passed in the Senate on June 3, 2014. Signed by the Governor on June 20, 2014.
House 6/26/13
Yea (Pro-Women): 97
Adams J. Adams R. Amstutz Anielski
Antonio Ashford Baker Barborak
Barnes Beck Becker Bishoff
Blair Blessing Boose Boyce
Brenner Brown Buchy Budish
Burkley Butler Carney Celebrezze
Cera Clyde Conditt Curtin
Damschroder DeVitis Derickson Dovilla
Driehaus Duffey Fedor Foley
Gerberry Gonzales Green Grossman
Hackett Hagan, C. Hagan, R. Hall
Hayes Heard Henne Hill
Hood Hottinger Huffman Johnson
Kunze Landis Letson Lundy
Lynch Maag Mallory McClain
McGregor Milkovich O’Brien Patmon
Patterson Pelanda Perales Phillips
Pillich Ramos Redfern Reece
Retherford Roegner Rogers Romanchuk
Rosenberger Ruhl Scherer Sears
Sheehy Slaby Slesnick Smith
Sprague Stautberg Stebelton Stinziano
Strahorn Sykes Terhar Thompson
Wachtmann Williams Winburn Young
Senate  6/3/2014
Yeas (Pro-Women): 33
Bacon Balderson Beagle Brown
Burke Cafaro Coley Eklund
Gardner Gentile Hite Hughes
Jones Jordan Kearney LaRose
Lehner Manning Obhof Oelslager
Patton Peterson Sawyer Schaffer
Schiavoni Seitz Skindell Smith
Taveres Turner Uecker Widener

Related Content

Tagged in these Policy Areas: