Innovation Ohio Facebook Innovation Ohio Twitter Innovation Ohio Instagram

Terra Goodnight · October 17, 2013

Half of Ohio’s House members voted to keep government shut down, default on debts

Late yesterday, a deal was reached to end the federal government shutdown and avert a financial crisis by providing short-term government funding and an increase of the country’s debt ceiling, allowing the government to make good on its financial obligations.

final vote

Notably, Ohio’s John Boehner, Republican Speaker of the House, brought the plan to the floor and voted for its passage. In voting yes, Boehner was joined by the state’s four Democratic House members and Republicans Joyce, Tiberi and Stivers. Eight of Ohio’s twelve Republican Congressmen, however, voted no, joining with the far-right Ted Cruz-aligned wing of the party.

Eight of Ohio’s twelve Republican Congressmen voted to keep the government shutdown and default on the nation’s debts — despite warnings that doing so would be devastating to the country’s economy.

Both US Senators — Brown and Portman — voted to end the shutdown.

Here are the House votes (source: ABC News):

Voting Yes (to end the shutdown and pay the nation’s debts):

Democrats — Beatty, Fudge, Kaptur, Ryan.

Republicans —  Boehner, Joyce, Stivers, Tiberi.

Voting No (to continue the shutdown and default on the nation’s debts):

Democrats — none. Republicans —  Chabot, Gibbs, Johnson, Jordan, Latta, Renacci, Turner, Wenstrup.

Related Content

Tagged in these Policy Areas: