Innovation Ohio Facebook Innovation Ohio Twitter Innovation Ohio Instagram

· January 29, 2015

Legislation: Ohio House Bill 6 – Sexual Offenses Statute of Limitations

Bill: House Bill 6 (full text) Title: Sexual Offenses Prosecution Sponsors: Representatives LaTourette and Kunze Bill Analysis: This bill extends the period of limitations on the prosecution of rape or sexual battery cases based on the implication of DNA analysis. HB6 extends the period during which prosecution of rape or sexual battery cases can occur from 20 to 25 years. The bill adds an additional five years for prosecution when a positive DNA result has identified a suspect, for offenses committed after the bill’s effective date, or for pending cases as long as the current period of limitations has not expired. Status: Introduced in the House January 28, 2015. A substitute bill was favorably reported by House Judiciary committee May 6, 2015. The bill passed the House by a vote of 92-0 on May 12, 2015. Referred to the Senate Criminal Justice Committee on May 27, 2015.  Received a Committee Hearing in the Senate on June 24, 2015 and an amended version was passed 31-0 on June 25, 2015. The House concurred with the Senate amendments on June 30, 2015. See how your legislator voted here. The bill was signed by the governor into law on July 16, 2015 and took effect immediately.
House 5/12/15
Yeas (Pro-Women): 92
Amstutz Antani Antonio Ashford
Baker Barnes Becker Bishoff
Blessing Boose Boyce Boyd
Brenner Brinkman Brown Buchy
Burkley Butler Cera Clyde
Conditt Craig Cupp Curtin
DeVitis Derickson Dever Driehaus
Duffey Gerberry Ginter Gonzales
Green Grossman Hackett Hagan
Hall Hambley Hayes Henne
Hill Hood Howse Huffman
Johnson, G. Johnson, T. Koehler Kraus
Kuhns Kunze LaTourette Landis
Leland Lepore-Hagan Maag Manning
McClain McColley O’Brien, M. O’Brien, S.
Patmon Patterson Pelanda Perales
Phillips Ramos Reece Reineke
Rezabek Roegner Rogers Romanchuk
Rosenberger Ruhl Ryan Schaffer
Schuring Sears Sheehy Slaby
Slesnick Smith, K. Smith, R. Sprague
Stinziano Strahorn Sykes Terhar
Thompson Vitale Young Zeltwanger
Nos (Anti-Women): 0
Senate Criminal Justice Committee 6/24/15
Yeas: 8
Kevin Bacon (R) John Eklund (R) Jim Hughes (R) Larry Obhof (R)
Bill Seitz (R) Michael J. Skindell (D) Cecil Thomas (D) Sandra R. Williams (D)
Nos: 0

Related Content

Tagged in these Policy Areas: