Innovation Ohio Facebook Innovation Ohio Twitter Innovation Ohio Instagram

· May 9, 2013

Legislation: Ohio House Bill 108 – Rape Crisis Centers

Bill: House Bill 108 (full textofficial bill analysis) Title: Rape Crisis Centers Sponsors: Representative Baker,  Representative Schuring Cosponsors:  Representatives Antonio, Beck, Cera, Derickson, Duffey, Gonzales, Hagan, C., Lundy, Milkovich, Rogers, Sprague, Stebelton, Strahorn, Szollosi, Butler, Celebrezze, Pillich, Winburn, Adams, R., Amstutz, Anielski, Ashford, Barborak, Barnes, Bishoff, Blair, Blessing, Boose, Boyce, Brenner, Brown, Buchy, Budish, Burkley, Carney, Conditt, Curtin, Damschroder, DeVitis, Dovilla, Driehaus, Fedor, Foley, Gerberry, Green, Grossman, Hackett, Hagan, R., Hall, Hayes, Heard, Henne, Hill, Hottinger, Huffman, Johnson, Kunze, Landis, Lynch, Maag, McClain, McGregor, O’Brien, Patmon, Patterson, Pelanda, Perales, Phillips, Ramos, Romanchuk, Ruhl, Sears, Slaby, Slesnick, Smith, Stautberg, Stinziano, Sykes, Terhar, Williams, Young Speaker Batchelder Bill Analysis:  This bill adds one member to the State Victims Assistance Advisory Council who represents eligible rape crisis programs. It also creates the Rape Crisis Trust Fund to help eligible rape crisis programs and requires the Attorney General to adopt rules governing the fund. The bill also proposes an additional $100 sex offender registration fee. A provision was added to this bill in the House which would prohibit a rape crisis center from referring clients to medical care provider who counsels or refers for abortion, except for instances of medical emergency. While providing additional funds for rape crisis centers is certainly an important issue this provisions is very concerning and we feel that women who have been victims of a rape should be made aware of all of their options. Status: Introduced in the House March 20, 2013, Passed in the House on June 12, 2013. Received hearings in the Senate.
House 6/12/13
Yea (Pro-Women): 95
Adams J. Adams R. Amstutz Anielski
Antonio Ashford Baker Barborak
Barnes Beck Becker Bishoff
Blair Blessing Boose Boyce
Brenner Brown Buchy Budish
Burkley Butler Carney Celebrezze
Cera Clyde Conditt Curtin
Damschroder DeVitis Derickson Dovilla
Driehaus Duffey Fedor Foley
Gerberry Gonzales Green Grossman
Hackett Hagan, C. Hagan, R. Hall
Hayes Heard Henne Hill
Hood Hottinger Huffman Johnson
Kunze Landis Lundy Lynch
Maag McClain McGregor Milkovich
O’Brein Patmon Patterson Pelanda
Perales Phillips Pillich Ramos
Redfern Reece Retherford Roegner
Rogers Romanchuk Rosenberger Ruhl
Scherer Schuring Sears Slaby
Slesnick Smith Sprague Stautberg
Stebelton Stinziano Strahorn Sykes
Terhar Thompson Wachtmann Williams
Winburn Young Batchelder

Related Content

Tagged in these Policy Areas: